The Republic of the Marshall Islands

RAMSI’s regional nature is its core underlying strength with the mission benefiting from the diverse cultures and experience of the contributing members. Since the arrival of RAMSI in 2003, thousands of police, military and civilian personnel from across the region have served with RAMSI and worked side by side with Solomon Islanders.

The Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI), known as the ‘Pearls of the Pacific’, play an important role in the strengthening of Solomon Islands, with officers from the Marshall Islands Police Force having served with RAMSI’s Participating Police Force since May 2006.

RMI is located in the Micronesia region north of Nauru and Kiribati in the North Pacific Ocean. It comprises five islands and 29 atolls and has a population of 55,000. RMI’s capital is Majuro.

RMI is an independent country in a Compact of Free Association with the United States. Under the compact, the United States has full authority and responsibility for RMI’s security and defence. RMI has full control of all other domestic and foreign policy and RMI citizens have access to favourable provisions for travelling to and working in the United States.