Former Commanders of the Participating Police Force

The Commander is responsible for the RAMSI Participating Police Force (PPF), whose original role was to restore law and order, collect weapons and arrest suspected criminals. As the security environment has improved in Solomon Islands, the PPF has stepped back to allow the Royal Solomon Islands Police Force (RSIPF) to take the lead on frontline policing.

The PPF is now focussed on building the capabilities of the RSIPF, especially in leadership development, public order management and the crucial logistics, human resources and administrative functions needed to support front-line officers.

As part of their role, the Commander also serves as a Deputy Commissioner of the RSIPF. The Commander of the PPF has traditionally been a serving Australian Federal Police officer, as Australia is the largest contributing country to RAMSI. To date, there have been seven Commanders of the PPF.

RAMSI’s former Commanders of the PPF are:

Mark Ney (2015-2016)

Greg Harrigan (2013-2015)

Paul Osborne (2011-2013)

Wayne Buchhorn (2009- 2011)

Denis McDermott (2007–2009)

Will Jamieson (2005 – 2007)

Sandi Peisley (2004 –2005)

Ben McDevitt  (2003-2004)