Federated States of Micronesia

RAMSI’s regional nature is its core underlying strength with the mission benefiting from the diverse cultures and experience of the contributing members. Since the arrival of RAMSI in 2003, thousands of police, military and civilian personnel from across the region have served with RAMSI and worked side by side with Solomon Islanders.

Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) is an island group in the North Pacific Ocean. FSM joined RAMSI in March 2006, and provides officers from the FSM National Police to serve proudly as part of the RAMSI Participating Police Force.

The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) consists of 607 islands, of which 65 are inhabited, spread over an ocean area the size of Western Australia. The islands are in four main groups, which form the basis of FSM’s four states: Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei and Kosrae. The capital, Palikir, is located on the island of Pohnpei. FSM has a population of 104,000.

FSM is an independent country in a Compact of Free Association with the United States. Under the Compact of Free Association, FSM controls domestic and foreign policy, but not defence and security, for which the United States is responsible.